7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index 7200emu.hacki.at
Dynamips, Dynagen and all that stuff
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index

hackibr>

NVRAM error message

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index -> Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
megatc101



Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:30 pm    Post subject: NVRAM error message Reply with quote

Hi All
I'm using Dynamips to play "what if", for a network that I'm planning to implement. My network consists of 3 X 3725 each with a NM-16ESW, 3 X 7200 with NPE 225s. On two of the 3725s I've created 5 VLANs that I'm trunking. I'm now attempting to add one additional VLAN to the third 3725 but I'm getting an error message that there is not enough space in NVRAM ( the error is below). I'm assuming that the 3725s are sharing a virtual NVRAM, owing to the fact that I've attempted to remove a VLAN from one of the other 3725s and I also a not enough space error on that router as well, even though it allowed me to add the VLANs in the first place.

I've checked the flash: and this shows that the vlan.data file in only 660 bytes, yet I've used up 16MB?

SW1#dir
Directory of flash:/

1 -rw- 660 <no date> vlan.dat

16777212 bytes total (0 bytes free)


The vlan.dat on the other two routers is being reported as 900 bytes.

Short of deleting the vlan.dat file ( which I believe is going to be my only option) does anyone know what the true limit of the VLAN NVRAM is, and is there a way to define separate VLAN NVRAM space for each router?


:error
SW1(vlan)#vlan 100
VLAN 100 added:
Name: VLAN0100
SW1(vlan)#vtp server
Device mode already VTP SERVER.
SW1(vlan)#apply
% not enough space on flash to store vlan database. trying squeeze...
squeeze of flash complete
% not enough space on flash to store vlan database even after squeeze
Error on database apply 40: NV storage failure
SW1(vlan)#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
conspathas



Joined: 28 Mar 2007
Posts: 1217
Location: CCIE

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I overcome this sort of issue by erasing the flash, squeezing it and then doing a wr mem. Works fine after that!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
megatc101



Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:36 pm    Post subject: NVRAM error message Reply with quote

Hi conspathas

Thanks for the response, I've tried the erase and that seems to work just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index -> Beginners All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group