7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index 7200emu.hacki.at
Dynamips, Dynagen and all that stuff
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index

hackibr>

Passed CCIE Lab, thanks to Dynamips
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index -> CCIE thanks to dynamips
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greystorm



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Location: CCIE (R&S)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I don't check the forum very often these days so my reply is a bit late.

Cyberdude, I did the same thing as you.

I took each NIC down in linux with ifdown ethX then checked which port on the switch went down. I then labelled my patch leads with the linux ethX designation so I knew which cable went where in my big mess of cables. Smile

Then I mapped the ethX to a router in my .net file and patched it into the right port according to the Internetwork Expert topology.

Linux labels the ports in a sensible manner, something like eth0 is the lowest PCI slot etc. So once you get the pattern it's fairly easy to figure out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Magicsunny



Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greystorm wrote:

1 x Core2Duo @ 2.7Ghz 2GB RAM - Ran Fedora Core 6 and Dynamips in Hypervisor mode. In here I had 1 onboard NIC, 2 Adaptec Quad Port PCI NICs and 1 Dual port Intel NIC.


Hi, i want to set up a similar Lab but with only one PC. I will use a Intel Core 2 Quad 9300 with 4 Gig RAM.

What for a motherboard do you use? Does it have "normal" PCI slots or PCI-X (PCI64)? PCI-X slots are in my opinion only available on server boards.
What for Adaptec Adapters do you installed? Is it the "Adaptec ANA 62044"? I have this adapter seen on ebay, but on the Adaptec Homepage itself there are no information about the card. Are this Adapters working in a normal PCI Slot?


Thanks for your help,
Sunny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greystorm



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Location: CCIE (R&S)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cards I used were the Adaptec ana-6944. I can't recall the Fedora version (perhaps 6?) but it picked them up without installing any extra drivers.

I used a Gigabyte board with 3 PCI and two PCI-X slots. The Adaptecs were server class PCI devices but they went into the PCI and worked just fine.

Good luck. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomnjerry03



Joined: 12 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Grey,

I have read all you comments posted on this link and will be requiring you help in setting the CCIE Lab

My System Configuration is as:

Motherboard: (Gigabyte) GA-P35-S3G with 5 PCI Slots available
Processor: Q8200 2.33 Ghz

Please let me know whether ADAPTEC ETHERNET 10/100MBPS QUAD RJ-45 PCI64 ANA-62044 will work with this 32-bit PCI available on my board.

Your suggestion will help me out in building my CCIE Lab with four real switches (2 x 3560 and 2 x 3550)

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hegefd



Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:34 pm    Post subject: labs Reply with quote

thanks for the informatin on dynamips - can you help point me to the resource that you used to build your labs and go through the exercises?

thanks,
Fritz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
luis6268



Joined: 18 Apr 2011
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As someone who recently passed, I'm be interested in finding out if you have any suggestions for reading material since I'm just beginning my endeavor.
___________________________
Seo Submission Services
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index -> CCIE thanks to dynamips All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group