7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index 7200emu.hacki.at
Dynamips, Dynagen and all that stuff
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index

hackibr>

Issue w/dot1q non-native vlan and 'real' devices?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index -> dynamips on windows
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tobiasj



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:12 pm    Post subject: Issue w/dot1q non-native vlan and 'real' devices? Reply with quote

I'm having issues passing traffic between a dynamips router and a real 3550 switch on anything other than the native dot1q (untagged) vlan. My setup is as follows:

Dell Optiplex GX260
Win XP, SP2, Firewall Off
WinPCap 4.0
Intel Pro/1000 MT NIC, v6.2.21.19

R1 is a 3745 running (C3725-IPVOICEK9-M), Version 12.4(11)T
When trying to pass traffic on a non-native Vlan to my 3550, (example, vlan 3), I get timeouts. I can ping between dynamips routers on Vlan 3.

HQ-RTR (dynamips) is 1.1.1.2, 3550 VLAN 3 SVI is 1.1.1.1

HQ-RTR>ping 1.1.1.1

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 1.1.1.1, timeout is 2 seconds:
.....
Success rate is 0 percent (0/5)
HQ-RTR>sho ip arp
Protocol Address Age (min) Hardware Addr Type Interface
Internet 1.1.1.1 0 Incomplete ARPA
Internet 1.1.1.2 - c202.067c.1111 ARPA FastEthernet0/0.3

Rack1Cat1#sho ip arp
Protocol Address Age (min) Hardware Addr Type Interface
Internet 1.1.1.1 - 0011.92ea.9680 ARPA Vlan3
Internet 1.1.1.2 0 c202.067c.1111 ARPA Vlan3

If I manually enter the arp entry for 1.1.1.1 on the dynamips router, and issue a 'debug ip packet detail' on the 3550, I can see the packets hitting the switches and ICMP replies being issued, but nothing comes back on the dynamips router side. In other words, my ARP and ICMP replies seem to be getting dropped from the 3550 to the 3745. I'm sure someone's had this working before, any help appreciated. I'm also going to try loading up the linux version to see if I get different results.

Thanks,
Jayson

autostart = False

[localhost:7200]

[[3725]]
image = c:\program files\dynamips\images\c3725-ipt.image
ram = 256
mmap = True
[[ethsw SW1]]
1 = dot1q 1
2 = dot1q 2
3 = dot1q 3
4 = dot1q 1
5 = dot1q 1
6 = dot1q 1
24 = dot1q 1 NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{3202F438-9D42-45AB-BE7B-FBB69B315816}


[[router R1]]
F0/0 = SW1 1
S1/0 = FRAME1 1
model = 3725
idlepc = 0x612e15f0

[[router R2]]
F0/0 = SW1 2
S1/0 = FRAME1 2
model = 3725
idlepc = 0x62331c08

[[router R3]]
F0/0 = SW1 3
S1/0 = FRAME1 3
model = 3725
idlepc = 0x623326d0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobiasj



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:48 am    Post subject: Resolved Reply with quote

After some more testing tonight, I've found this to be something with the NIC card... I reproduced the same problem on seperate, identical PC with the same model NIC. I then attached a Linksys USB200M adapter, changed the net file to point to the new USB NIC, and I was able to pass traffic between all VLANs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    7200emu.hacki.at Forum Index -> dynamips on windows All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group